1991 & 1997 NCAA Division III National Champions

Southern Maine to Host LEC Baseball Championship Tournament

Southern Maine to Host LEC Baseball Championship Tournament

            GORHAM, Maine -- The University of Southern Maine baseball team, regular season champion in the Little East Conference, will host the 2012 LEC Baseball Championship Tournament that begins Wednesday morning at the USM Baseball Stadium.

            The Huskies (23-16; 11-3) are the top seed and will play sixth-seeded Plymouth State University (17-20; 5-9) in the opening game of the six-team, double-elimination tournament starting at 9:30 a.m.  Second-seeded Keene State College (29-11; 10-4) will take on the fifth seed, the University of Massachusetts Boston (18-20-1; 6-8), in the middle game of the day at 12:30 p.m.  Defending tournament champion Rhode Island College (25-15; 9-5) is the third seed and plays fourth-seeded Eastern Connecticut State University (28-11; 8-6) in the final game of the first day at 3:30 p.m.

            Tickets for each day are $5 for adults and $3 for students and senior citizens.

            Southern Maine comes into the tournament riding a seven-game winning streak.  USM swept a doubleheader from nationally ranked Eastern Connecticut this past Saturday to clinch its first LEC regular season crown since 2009.  Southern Maine has won or shared the LEC regular season crown seven times.  This is the sixth time in the 16-year history of the tournament that the LEC championship tourney has been played at USM.

            The Huskies, who won the inaugural LEC championship in 1997, are seeking their first tournament championship since 1999.


2012 Little East Conference Baseball Championship Tournament
at USM Baseball Stadium, Gorham, Maine

Day One (Wednesday, May 9)                                                                                                  
Game One       #6 Plymouth State (17-20) vs. #1 Southern Maine (23-16)                   9:30 a.m.
Game Two       #5 UMass Boston (18-20-1) vs. #2 Keene State (29-11)                     12:30 p.m.
Game Three    #4 Eastern Connecticut (28-11) vs. #3 Rhode Island College (25-15)     3:30 p.m.

Day Two (Thursday, May 10)                                                                                                   
Game Four       Loser of Game One vs. Loser of Game Two                                          9:30 a.m.
Game Five        Loser of Game Three vs. Winner of Game One                                   12:30 p.m.
Game Six         Winner of Game Two vs. Winner of Game Three                                   3:30 p.m.
Day Three (Friday, May 11)                                                                                                    
Game Seven     teams to be determined                                                                    9:30 a.m.
Game Eight      teams to be determined                                                                   12:30 p.m.
Game Nine       teams to be determined                                                                    3:30 p.m.

Day Four (Saturday, May 12)                                                                                                  
Game Ten         teams to be determined                                                                  12:00 p.m.
Game 11          if necessary