1991 & 1997 NCAA Division III National Champions

Ben Ives Named LEC Pitcher of the Year

Senior Ben Ives was named Little East Conference Pitcher of the Year following a 9-0 season.
Senior Ben Ives was named Little East Conference Pitcher of the Year following a 9-0 season.

            GORHAM, Maine -- The Little East Conference today announced its annual baseball postseason awards highlighted by University of Southern Maine senior right-handed pitcher Ben Ives (Portland, Maine/Deering) being named the Pitcher of the Year and veteran head coach Ed Flaherty being selected by his peers as Coach of the Year.

            Six USM players were named to the All-Little East first or second teams.  Ives, junior designated hitter Tucker White (Deerfield, N.H./Coe-Brown Northwood) and junior relief pitcher Nick Douglass (Poland, Maine) were named to the first team while senior outfielder David Ricker (Winthrop, Maine), junior third baseman Nick Grady (Whitefield, Maine/Erskine) and sophomore outfielder Forrest Chadwick (Gardiner, Maine) received spots on the second team.  The head coaches voted upon the postseason awards and all-conference team.

            Ives is the third USM hurler to be named the LEC's top pitcher joining Ryan Adams (2002) and Tim Therrian (2009) on the list of recipients.  Flaherty was named the conference's top coach for the sixth time since 1997 when baseball was added to the roster of conference sports.  Chadwick is the Huskies only repeat all-conference selection.

            Named the Most Outstanding Player of the recent LEC championship tournament, Ives has had a brilliant season.  Heading into the NCAA Regional Tournament, Ives is unbeaten with a 9-0 record and a 3.11 ERA.  He ranks fifth in the conference in ERA, first in innings pitched, wins and games started, and second in strikeouts.  Ives has hurled 84.0 innings allowing 78 hits and 13 walks while striking out 70.

            Douglass became the Huskies closer this season and has compiled a 4-1 record with a conference-leading six saves and a 1.59 ERA.  The southpaw has appeared in 18 games pitching 39.2 innings.  He has allowed 21 hits, 29 walks and just eight runs while striking out 62, and opponents are hitting just .153 against him.

            The Huskies' designated hitter, White leads the team with a .393 batting average (70 for 178) and has 45 runs scored, 10 doubles, a single-season school record nine triples, six home runs and 46 RBI.

            A converted infielder, Ricker is batting .355 (60 for 169) with a team-high 48 runs scored and 13 doubles, six triples, five home runs and 32 RBI.  Ricker leads the Huskies in on-base percentage (.474) that includes 14 walks and 27 times being hit by pitch.

            The 2011 LEC Rookie of the Year and a first team all-conference as a third baseman, Chadwick moved to the outfield this season to take advantage of his athletic abilities.  He backed up his rookie year by hitting .324 (55 for 170) this season with 34 runs scored, five doubles, five triples, five home runs and 32 RBI.  He had the game-winning hit in the Huskies 2-1 win over Keene State College that moved in the Huskies into the championship game of the LEC tournament.

            Splitting time between first and third base early in the season, Grady settled in at third base to give the Huskies solid defense at the hot corner and a strong bat in the middle of the lineup.  Grady is hitting .354 (64 for 181) with 37 runs scored, 12 doubles, six triples, five home runs and 38 RBI.

            Southern Maine, 27-17 overall, has been seeded sixth in the upcoming eight-team, double-elimination NCAA regional tournament being played in Mansfield, Conn.  USM will face third-seeded Trinity College in a first-round game on Wednesday (4:30 p.m.).

2012 All-Little East Conference Baseball Team and Awards

First Team
Position                         Name                      Institution

Designated Hitter            Tucker White            University of Southern Maine
Catcher                          J.P. Stone                 Rhode Island College
First Base                       Joe Balowski            Eastern Connecticut State University
Second Base                   Joan Mustafa            Rhode Island College
Shortstop                       Kyle Allaire               Rhode Island College
Third Base                     Greg Bates                Keene State College
Outfield                         Conor Bierfeldt          Western Connecticut State University
Outfield                         Erik Bergstrom          Keene State College
Outfield                         Kyle Morrill               Keene State College
Pitcher                          David Hoey               Rhode Island College
Pitcher                          Ben Ives                   University of Southern Maine
Relief Pitcher                 Nick Douglass            University of Southern Maine

Second Team
Designated Hitter          Luke Merrill                Plymouth State University
Catcher                        David Simone            Western Connecticut State University
First Base                     Matt Consiglio            University of Massachusetts Boston
Second Base                 Zack Dandrea            Western Connecticut State University
Shortstop                     Danny O'Connell        Eastern Connecticut State University
Third Base                   Nick Grady                 University of Southern Maine
Outfield                       Forrest Chadwick        University of Southern Maine
Outfield                       David Ricker               University of Southern Maine
Outfield                       Adam Roderick           Eastern Connecticut State University
Outfield                       Mike Yates                 Western Connecticut State University
Pitcher                        Bobby Chatfield          Plymouth State University
Pitcher                        Jeff Pelkey                 Keene State College
Relief Pitcher               Jeff Thomas               University of Massachusetts Boston


Co-Players of the Year
Kyle Allaire, Rhode Island College
Conor Bierfeldt, Western Connecticut State University

Pitcher of the Year
Ben Ives, University of Southern Maine

Rookie of the Year
Adam Roderick, Eastern Connecticut State University

Coach of the Year
Ed Flaherty, University of Southern Maine

Team Sportsmanship Award
University of Massachusetts Dartmouth