1991 & 1997 NCAA Division III National Champions

Five Huskies Named to NEIBA Division III All-New England Team

Five Huskies Named to NEIBA Division III All-New England Team

            GORHAM, Maine -- The New England Intercollegiate Baseball Association (NEIBA) on Wednesday announced that five members of the University of Southern Maine baseball team are among the 51 players named to the 2012 NEIBA Division III All-New England Team.

            Junior designated hitter Tucker White (Deerfield, N.H./Coe-Brown Northwood) was named to the first team, and junior third baseman Nick Grady (Whitefield, Maine/Erskine), senior outfielder David Ricker (Winthrop, Maine), senior starting pitcher Ben Ives (Portland, Maine/Deering) and junior relief pitcher Nick Douglass (Poland, Maine) were selected to the second team.

            White, Ives and Douglass were recently named to the All-Little East Conference first team, while Grady and Ricker were picked to the second team.  Ives was also named the LEC Pitcher of the Year.

            Southern Maine, 27-18 overall, is the sixth seed in the eight-team, double-elimination NCAA regional tournament being played in Mansfield, Conn.  USM lost its opening round game to third-seeded Trinity College, 13-8, Wednesday evening.  USM faces seventh-seeded Bowdoin College in an elimination game Thursday afternoon (1:15 p.m.).

            The Huskies' designated hitter, White leads the team with a .396 batting average (72 for 182) and has 48 runs scored, 10 doubles, a single-season school record 10 triples, seven home runs and 48 RBI.

            Named the Most Outstanding Player of the recent LEC championship tournament, Ives has had a brilliant season.  Heading into the NCAA Regional Tournament, Ives is unbeaten with a 9-0 record and a 3.11 ERA.  He ranks fifth in the LEC in ERA, first in innings pitched, wins and games started, and second in strikeouts.  Ives has hurled 84.0 innings allowing 78 hits and 13 walks while striking out 70.

            Douglass became the Huskies closer this season and has compiled a 4-1 record with a conference-leading six saves and a 1.59 ERA.  The southpaw has appeared in 19 games pitching 41.0 innings.  He has allowed 23 hits, 30 walks and just 11 runs while striking out 64, and opponents are hitting just .162 against him.

            A converted infielder, Ricker is batting .349 (60 for 172) with a team-high 49 runs scored and 13 doubles, six triples, five home runs and 33 RBI.  Ricker leads the Huskies in on-base percentage (.472) that includes 14 walks and 29 times being hit by pitch.

            Splitting time between first and third base early in the season, Grady settled in at third base to give the Huskies solid defense at the hot corner and a strong bat in the middle of the lineup.  Grady is hitting .357 (66 for 185) with 39 runs scored, 12 doubles, six triples, five home runs and 39 RBI.


2012 NEIBA Division III All-New England Team

First Team
Pos.       Name                      Class            Institution

DH         Tucker White            Junior            Southern Maine
C            Brett Cahill              Sophomore    Salem State
1B          Joe Balowski            Junior            Eastern Connecticut
2B          Sean Riley               Junior            Bridgewater State
2B          Tim Clark                Junior            Western New England
3B          Mike Rubino            Junior             Western New England
SS          Sam Sager              Senior            Tufts
OF          Kyle Morrill              Senior            Keene State
OF          Sean Ryan               Junior            Wheaton
OF          Conor Bierfeldt         Junior            Western Connecticut
OF          Jeff Scafidi              Senior            Anna Maria
P            Tyler Erickson          Senior            Castleton State
P            Chad Rafferty          Junior             St. Joseph's
P            Ben Goldberg          Junior             Trinity
P            Alec Palioca             Sophomore     Wheaton

Second Team
DH          Peter Burgio            Senior            Keene State
C            Mike Samela            Senior            Amherst
1B          David Pierce             Junior            Bridgewater State
2B          Ryan Zielinski           Junior            Castleton State
3B          Nick Grady               Junior            Southern Maine
3B          Greg Bates               Junior            Keene State
SS          Stephen Rogers        Junior            Trinity
SS          Kyle Allaire               Senior            Rhode Island College
OF          Eric Bergstrom          Senior            Keene State
OF          David Ricker             Senior            Southern Maine
OF          Kevin Greene            Junior            Westfield State
OF          Mike Yates                Senior            Western Connecticut
UT          Jhonneris Mendez      Junior            Suffolk
P            Andy Sadoski            Sophomore     Bridgewater State
P            Frank Holbrook         Junior            Wheaton
P            Ben Ives                   Junior            Southern Maine
P            Nick Douglass           Junior            Southern Maine

Third Team
DH          Matt Collins             Senior             Tufts
DH          Karl Quist                Senior             Springfield
C            Nic Lops                  Freshman         Saint Joseph's
1B          Jake Cintolo             Sophomore       Suffolk
1B          Apolinar De la Cruz   Freshman         Wheaton
2B          Brandon Chase          Junior             Saint Joseph's
3B          Kyle Brigham            Freshman        Daniel Webster
SS          Danny O'Connell       Sophomore      Eastern Connecticut
SS          Jamill Moquette        Sophomore       UMass Boston
OF          Conor Cavanagh       Senior              Lasell
OF          Donnie Cimino          Freshman         Wesleyan
OF          Creed Mangrum        Sophomore       MIT
OF          Matt Anthonis            Junior             Western New England
UT          Bob Cook                  Junior             Amherst
UT          Alex Chetelat             Senior            Newbury
P            Matt Kerr                  Senior             Salem State
P            Sean Meekins            Freshman        Trinity
P            Oliver Van Zant         Junior              Bowdoin
P            Brendan Nugent        Sophomore      Western New England

Player of the Year
Conor Bierfeldt, Western Connecticut

Pitcher of the Year
Tyler Erickson, Castleton State

Coach of the Year
Eric Podbelski, Wheaton