1991 & 1997 NCAA Division III National Champions

Southern Maine Receives At-Large Berth into NCAA Baseball Tournament

Southern Maine Receives At-Large Berth into NCAA Baseball Tournament

Huskies Selected to Host a Regional Tournament Starting Friday

            GORHAM, Maine -- The University of Southern Maine baseball team received the good news this afternoon that it had received one of the 18 at-large berths when the NCAA announced the full 58-team field for the 2019 NCAA Division III Baseball National Championship Tournament that begins this Friday.  The Huskies also received the news that USM has been selected as one of the 16 host sites for this weekend's regional tournaments.

            Southern Maine (34-7) will open the tournament at noon on Friday playing New England College (25-15), champions of the New England Collegiate Conference.  In the second game, SUNYAC champion Oswego State (29-12) will take on MIT (22-17-1), champion of the New England Women's and Men's Athletic Conference (NEWMAC).

            This year's Division III tournament features 13 four-team regionals and three two-team regionals.  The four-team regionals will play a double-elimination format tournament over three days.  The two team regionals will be best of five series contested over three days if necessary.

            The 16 regional champions will be paired into eight super-regionals, playing a best of three series.  The eight super regional winners will advance to the nation finals in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

            Southern Maine is making its third straight appearance in the tournament, and seventh in the last eight years.  Since moving to the NCAA in 1985, this will be the Huskies' 25th overall appearance in the tournament.


NCAA Division III Baseball Regional Tournament
At University of Southern Maine, Gorham, Maine

Friday, May 17

Game One

Southern Maine (34-7) vs. New England College (25-15)


Game Two

Oswego (29-12) vs. MIT (22-17-1)



Saturday, May 18

Game Three

Loser of Game One vs. Loser of Game Two


Game Four

Winner of Game One vs. Winner of Game Two


Game Five

Winner of Game Three vs. Loser of Game Four



Sunday, May 19

Game Six

Winner of Game Four vs. Winner of Game Five


Game Seven

Winner of Game Six vs. Loser of Game Six (if necessary)