2018 LEC Rookie of the Year: Samantha Ellis

Bubier and Gaube Earn All-Little East Conference Post Season Honors

Captain Joanna Gaube (left) and Kailey Bubier (right) earned LEC post-season honors
Captain Joanna Gaube (left) and Kailey Bubier (right) earned LEC post-season honors
GORHAM, Maine  - Senior back Joanna Gaube (Woodstock, Conn./Pomfret) and junior forward Kailey Bubier (Auburn, Maine/Hebron Academy) of the University of Southern Maine Huskies field hockey team have each earned a spot on the 2011 All-Little East Conference third team.  The announcement was made this afternoon by the Little East Conference following a vote by LEC coaches. 

         It is the first such honor for Gaube in her four-year career for the Huskies, while Bubier is being recognized by the Little East Conference with postseason honors for the second consecutive year.  Bubier earned second team All-LEC accolades in 2010.

         Serving as one of the Huskies three captains in 2011, Gaube had a strong senior campaign anchoring the Huskies' defense from her sweeper position.  Playing and starting in all 20 games, Gaube recorded one goal and one assist for three points.  Her lone goal of the 2011 season was a game-winner as she scored the decisive goal in the Huskies 3-1 win over Framingham State.

         Gaube finished her career with 73 games played, three goals, two assists and three defensive saves. 

         Despite suffering from injuries throughout the season, Bubier led the Huskies in scoring notching seven goals and three assists in 15 games played.  Three of her team-leading seven goals were game-winners, helping the Huskies to a trio of wins over Little East Conference opponents Bridgewater State, Salem State and Fitchburg State.

         Through three seasons, Bubier has totaled 29 goals and eight assists for 66 points.  Her 29 goals are currently tied for eighth place in USM career records, while her 66 points are tied for ninth. 

2011 All-Little East Conference Field Hockey Team

First Team

Name                                               Position                       Class                                           Institution

Elizabeth Coffin                              Forward                      Senior                                      Keene State

Megan Jacobs                                Forward                      Senior                                 Fitchburg State

Jackie Morin                                    Forward                  Sophomore                            Plymouth State

Eleanor Taylor                                Forward                       Junior                           UMass Dartmouth

Lauren Bergeron                            Midfield                       Senior                                 Plymouth State

Aimee Donaruma                           Midfield                  Sophomore                                 Keene State

Aislynn Sherry                                 Midfield                       Senior                                      Keene State

Taryn Cardiel                                     Back                          Junior                           UMass Dartmouth

Kerry Howe                                         Back                         Senior                                      Keene State

Aisha Rai Thompson                       Back                     Sophomore                            Plymouth State

Caitlin Davino-Draper                Goalkeeper                Freshman                                  Keene State

Second Team

Erica Allan                                       Forward                       Junior                           UMass Dartmouth

Kalin Billert                                      Forward                       Junior                                      Keene State

Olivia Colborn                                 Forward                       Junior                                 Plymouth State

Jessi Gould                                     Forward                      Senior                                 Westfield State

Samantha Janda                           Forward                      Senior                               Worcester State

Shelby Farland                                Midfield                       Junior                            Bridgewater State

Devon Herlihy                                  Midfield                  Sophomore                      UMass Dartmouth

Deanne Mastrocola                       Midfield                       Junior                      Western Connecticut

Victoria Dolce                                     Back                     Sophomore                      UMass Dartmouth

Nicole Gagnon                                  Back                         Senior                                 Westfield State

Kimberly Hahn                                   Back                         Senior                      Western Connecticut

Kilary Lemelin                             Goalkeeper                    Junior                                 Plymouth State

Third Team

Lauren Atkinson                             Forward                      Senior                      Western Connecticut

Kailey Bubier                                   Forward                       Junior                                Southern Maine

Sarah Cozzens                               Forward                      Senior                               Worcester State

Jamie Kelley                                   Forward                       Junior                                 Fitchburg State

Molly Cotter                                      Midfield                       Senior                               Worcester State

Alyce Ferenc                                    Midfield                       Senior                                      Keene State

Mari Roma                                       Midfield                       Senior                                 Fitchburg State

Lauren Tavares                              Midfield                       Junior                                 Westfield State

Lauren DeLuca                                 Back                          Junior                       Eastern Connecticut

Joanna Gaube                                   Back                         Senior                               Southern Maine

Katlyn Simula                                     Back                     Sophomore                                 Keene State

Amanda McCarthy                      Goalkeeper                   Senior                                 Westfield State


Offensive Player of the Year: Elzabeth Coffin, Keene State

Defensive Player of the Year: Kerry Howe, Keene State

Rookie of the Year: Caitlin Davino-Draper, Keene State

Coach of the Year: Amy Watson, Keene State

Team Sportsmanship: Eastern Connecticut State