2017 National Champion Dan Del Gallo (149)

Huskies Finish Second at Ted Reese Invitational

Huskies Finish Second at Ted Reese Invitational
            GORHAM, Maine  – Led by the tournament's Most Outstanding Wrestler, senior Daniel Del Gallo (Gardiner, Maine), the University of Southern Maine Huskies finished second out of 13 teams at the 2016 Ted Reese Invitational hosted by USM at the Costello Sports Complex this Saturday. 

            Castleton placed first overall with 143.0 points, followed by Southern Maine in second with 138.5.  Apprentice School placed third with 107 points, Johnson and Wales University took fourth with 85 points, and Springfield Technical Community College rounded out the top five with 71 points.

            Ranked second nationally at 149 pounds, Del Gallo was one of 10 Husky grapplers to earn a spot on the podium and one of three USM student-athletes to win their bracket.  Dan was joined by his brother freshman Peter Del Gallo (Gardiner, Maine) claimed his third invitational title of his rookie season at 125 pounds, while senior captain CJ Luth (Milford, Conn./Foran) won the 157-pound bracket. 

            Freshman Zach Thompson (Bristol, Conn./Bristol Eastern) placed second at 165 pounds, while sophomore captain Brendan Weir (Easthampton, Mass./Hampshire Regional) also took second place honors at 141 pounds.  USM had two wrestlers place third in freshman Josh Smith (York, Maine) at 165 pounds, and sophomore Mike Risti (Limerick, Maine/Massabesic).  Senior Steven Corio (Manville, R.I./Lincoln) and rookie Kolby Smith (Springfield, Mass./Sabis International Charter School) each placed fourth at 197 and 184 respectively, while sophomore Casey Abshire (Lowell, Mass.) placed fifth at 125 pounds.

            Dan Del Gallo dominated his way to another title at 149 pounds, posting a 4-0 record at the Ted Reese Invitational to remain undefeated in his final season with Southern Maine at 17-0.  Del Gallo opened with a in over STCC's Walter Ordonez in 4:45 and then earned his second pin over Castleton's Anthony Fruci  in 4:43 to advance to the semifinals.  In the semis, Del Gallo took a major decision over Trinity's Grant Sorenson 14-2, before winning the title with a technical fall over Jamiel Stapleton over Johnson and Wales 25-6 (6:54). 

            Peter Del Gallo also remained undefeated to start his intercollegiate career improving to 16-0 with a 4-0 mark on the day.  Del Gallo had two wins by fall, a technical fall and an 8-3 decision in the championship bout over Tyreek Staton of Castleton. 

            Luth improved to 15-4 with five victories on the day to capture the 157-pound bracket.  Luth continued his dominant performance in his final season, opening with a 17-1 (4:33) technical fall victory over Zac Cassidy of Plymouth State, and then earned a 1:21 pin over Apprentice's Christian Carter in his second match of the day.  In the championship, Luth picked up a 4-1 decision over Castleton's Cameron Milliken. 

Southern Maine travels to Plymouth State on Saturday (11:00 a.m.) for a dual meet.


2016-2017 Huskies' Wrestling

Ted Reese Invitational

Southern Maine Wrestling Results (Only)



Peter Del Gallo (SM) pinned Ryan Cabezas (Castleton), 2:35

Del Gallo (SM) pinned Jarrod Clark (App), 1:24

Del Gallo (SM) technical fall Anthony Monahan (App), 16-1 (6:55)

Championship: Del Gallo (SM) dec. Tyreek Staton (Castleton), 8-3



Ryan Pro (NEC) dec. Casey Abshire (SM), 7-3

Abshire (SM) dec. Cabezas (Castleton), 7-2

Monahan (App) maj dec. Abshire (SM), 13-2



Brendan Weir (SM) maj dec. Drew Saccone (Trin), 12-0

Weir (SM) maj dec. Pete Leite (Castleton), 16-3

Weir (SM) technical fall Eddie Bello (PSU), 17-2 (4:53)

Weir (SM) dec. Tristan Mabe (App), 9-4

Championship: Zak Hale (Castleton) dec. Weir (SM), 4-1



Austin Wilson (RPI) technical fall Nathaniel Grimard (SM), 18-2 (4:24)

Grimard (SM) dec. James Sclafani (Trinity), 15-8

Grimard (SM) pinned Austin Viens (Castleton), 1:55

Ian Moritz (Trinity) pinned Grimard (SM), 1:50



Hale (Castleton) pinned Dwayne Dyer (SM), 2:18

Saccone (Trinity) dec. Dyer (SM), 8-6



Dan Del Gallo (SM) pinned Walter Ordonez (STCC), 4:45

Del Gallo (SM) pinned Anthony Fruci (Castleton), 4:43

Del Gallo (SM) major dec. Grant Sorenson (Trinity), 14-2

Championship: Del Gallo (SM) technical fall Jamiel Stapleton (JWU), 25-6 (6:54)



Keith Martin (Trinity) pinned Jared Garcia (SM), 3:43

Garcia (SM) dec. Howes (RPI), 10-3

Marvin Cunningham (JWU) pinned Garcia (SM), 3:52



Brandon Fleming (JWU) pinned Mike Macaluso (SM), 5:00

John Clark (Maine) technical fall Mike Macaluso (SM), 16-0 (4:04)


Cameron Milliken (Castleton) pinned Noah Robidoux (SM), 3:58

Zac Cassidy (PSU) technical fall Robidoux (SM), 18-3 (5:31)



CJ Luth (SM) tech fall Cassidy (PSU), 17-1 (4:33)

Luth (SM) pinned Christian Carter (App), 1:21

Luth (SM) dec Antonio Deaguero (JWU), 7-0

Luth (SM) maj dec Bryson Woody (App), 8-0

Championship: Luth (SM) dec. Cameron Milliken (Castleton) 4-1



Nolan Comu (Trinity) pinned Joe Langley (SM) 3:57

Ethan Fuller (Castleton) pinned Langley (SM) 0:48



Josh Smith (SM) tech fall Drew Burschlag (RPI), 17-2 (7:00)

Smith (SM) dec John Davis (Trinity) 6-3

Jared Costa (Castleton) tech fall Smith (SM) 16-0 (2:22)

Smith (SM) dec Connor Winchenbach (Husson) 5-4

Smith (SM) tech fall Chad Simmons (App), 15-0 (7:00)



Zac Thompson (SM) dec James Zupko (Castleton), 6-1

Thompson (SM) maj dec Francis Corvino (Trinity), 12-4

Thompson (SM) dec Comu (Trinity), 10-4

Championship: Costa (Castleton) dec Thompson (SM), 5-2



Matt Froio (PSU) dec Aaron Weiss (SM), 5-0

Chris Kennedy (App) med forfeit Weiss (SM), 6-3 (4:54)



Kolby Smith (SM) dec. James Brescia (AIC), 8-2

Smith (SM) dec. Rusy Wilson (Maine), 4-1

Pete Hailer (JWU) pinned Smith (SM), 8:30

Smith (SM) dec. Danny Sblendorio (JWU), 6-3

THIRD PLACE: Mitchell LaFlam (Castleton) maj dec. Smith (SM) 10-2



Nicholas Kovacs (JWU) dec. Steven Corio (SM), 6-5

Corio (SM) dec. Ryan Ford (RPI), 9-7

Corio (SM) pinned Vandan Schmidt (App), 5:34

Corio (SM) pinned Ky Young (NEC), 3:37

THIRD PLACE: Patrick Daly (JWU) maj dec. Corio (SM) 13-4



Jenard Rosemondu (AIC) major dec Cody Spicer (SM), 11-3

Mason Osborn (Castleton) dec Spicer (SM), 4-2 SV



Raoul Khouri (MIT) pinned Thomas Foss (SM), 1:29

Jose Gandarilla (RPI) pinned Foss (SM), 3:29



Donavan Lozada (STCC) pinned Michael Darling (SM), 6:35

Darling (SM) dec Mike Garcia (PSU), 8-6 SV

Steven Francisco (App) pinned Darling (SM), 426



Mike Risti (SM) maj dec Edmund Pierce (JWU), 10-2

Risti (SM) pinned Gandarilla (RPI), 0:35

Risti (SM) pinned Francisco (App), 4:01

Rosemond (AIC) pinned Risti (App), 2:57

Risti (SM) dec Nick Scott (Castleton), 3-2

THIRD PLACE: Risti (SM) pinned Franciso (App) 0:49