2017 National Champion Dan Del Gallo (149)

Huskies Earns Numerous Post Season Honors from New England Wrestling Association

Huskies Earns Numerous Post Season Honors from New England Wrestling Association


GORHAM, Maine   –  Eight University of Southern Maine Huskies earned post season honors from the New England Wrestling Association (NEWA) to conclude the 2018-2019 season. Junior All-American Peter Del Gallo (Gardiner, Maine) highlighted the list of Huskies earning post-season accolades earning first team All-NEWA and a spot on the NEWA All-Academic Team. 

            Joining Del Gallo with post-season recognition as members of the 2018-2019 NEWA Honorable Mention team are sophomores Austin Shorey (Lebanon, Maine/Noble) and Juan Veraza (Miramar, Fla./Somerset Academy), junior Zach Thomason (Bristol, Conn.Bristol Eastern) and seniors Brendan Weir (East Hampton, Mass./Hampshire Regional) and Mike Risti (Limerick, Maine/Massabesic).  Two Huskies also earned spots on the NEWA All-Rookie team in sophomore Bradley Beaulieu (Waterboro, Maine/Marshwood) and Jakob Peavey (South China, Maine/Erskine Academy).  
            Becoming just the fourth All-American in the history of the Huskies' wrestling program, Del Gallo finished third at the 2019 NCAA Division III National Championship earlier this month.  Del Gallo, seeded sixth in the national championship bracket, rumbled his way to a 5-1 record to earn his spot as All-America along former Husky greats Mike Morin (2009, 2010), Matt Ulrich (2010), and Dan Del Gallo (2017).  Del Gallo finished his junior season with an outstanding record of 25-3 and heads into his final season as a Husky with a career mark of 99-8.  Del Gallo has also excelled in the classroom and was recently named a 2019 NWCA Division III All-Academic Team honors along with Peavey in addition to his NEWA All-Academic Team honor. An Exercise Science major, Del Gallo is also a 2018 William B. Wise Scholar-Athlete.  

            Shorey, the 2018 NEWA co-Rookie of the Year, earns honorable mention honors at 141 pounds.  Shorey, along with Weir and Vernaza earned All-Region accolades at the 2019 NCAA Division III Northeast Regional Championship.  Shorey and Weir are two-time All-Region wrestlers. Shorey finished fifth, while Weir placed sixth at 149 pounds.  Vernaza, who entered the regional championship as the 16th-seed in the 165-pound bracket, battled his way to a seventh place finish to earn all-region honors for the first time in his career.  

            Thompson and Risti are earned All-NEWA honorable mention honors for the first time competing at 157 and 165 pounds, while Beaulieu and Peavey earned spots on the all-rookie team at 133 and 285 pounds. Peavey also earned NWCA Division III All-Academic Team honors this season.  In his first season, wrestling behind Risti, Peavey posted a record of 16-9 and took the NEWA Futures title in his weight class.  

            In addition to the eight post-season honors given to USM wrestlers, eight Huskies were also on the NEWA All-Academic team: Del Gallo, Peavey, junior Josh Smith (York, Maine), sophomores Brandon Cousino (North Ferrisburgh, Vermont/Vergennes Union) and Raul Gierbolini (Carolina, Puerto Rico), Joey LeClair (Keeseville, N.Y./Clintonville) and freshmen Trevor Engling (Dubuque, Iowa) and Jared Garcia (Marshfield, Mass.).   

2018-2019 New England Wrestling Association (NEWA) Post Season Honors

2018-2019 All-Conference Winner

First Team:Peter Del Gallo, 125

Honorable Mention:Austin Shorey, 141; Brendan Weir, 149; Zac Thompson, 157; Juan Vernaza, 165; Mike Risti, 285


2018-2019 NEWA All-Rookie Team

Bradley Beaulieu, 133; Jake Peavey, 285


2018-2019 NEWA Scholar-Athlete Honors

Peter Del Gallo, 125; Jake Peavey, 285


2018-2019 NEWA All-Academic Team Members

Brandon Cousino, Peter Del Gallo, Trevor Engling, Jared Garcia, Raul Gierbolini, Joe Leclair, Jake Peavey, Josh Smith



- cac –