2016 USTFCCCA All-Academic Team

George Towle Named LEC Women's XC Coach of the Year

George Towle Named LEC Women's XC Coach of the Year

(With contributions from the Little East Conference)

            GORHAM, Maine -- The Little East Conference today announced that veteran University of Southern Maine women's cross country head coach George Towle has been selected by his peers to receive the 2011 LEC Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year Award.  The award is among the conference's four end-of-the-season awards voted upon by the coaches.

            This is the third time since the awards program began in 2007 that Towle has been the recipient of the honor.  He previously won the award in 2007 and shared the award with Peter Thomas of Keene State College in 2008.

            Under Towle's direction, junior Molly Carl (York, Maine) became the second women's cross country runner in program history to earn All-America honors. Carl placed 27th overall at the NCAA Division III Championship to join Penny Osborne (1999) on the Huskies' exclusive All-America list.

            Towle, who recently completed his 27th season at the helm of the cross country team, led Southern Maine to a second-place finish at the Little East Championship as sophomore Morgan Beede (Augusta, Maine) joined Carl on the All-Little East team.  Freshman Hannah Wiley (Arundel, Maine/Thornton Academy) joined Carl and Beede on the All-New England Alliance team where the Huskies finished third among the 13 schools competing.

            Two weeks earlier, the Huskies finished fourth in the team standings at the State of Maine Cross Country Championship.  The championship was highlighted by Carl's individual title as she defeated a field of 141 competitors to bring the championship trophy back to Gorham for the first time since Osborne won the title in 1999.

            The other award winners included Keene State senior Paige Mills receiving the Runner of the Year Award for the third consecutive year, freshman Katie Sheehan of the University of Massachusetts Dartmouth collecting the Rookie of the Year award, and Rhode Island College was the recipient of the Team Sportsmanship Award.